The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is based around four themes; each theme is linked to an important principle:

  1. Unique Child
    Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  2. Positive Relationships
    Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or key person.
  3. Enabling Environment
    The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
  4. Learning and Development
    Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and interconnected.


An opportunity for your child to make friends and develop educationally in a caring atmosphere.

We provide the Early Years Foundation Stage framework through seven areas of learning opportunities. These are separated into two sections, Prime Areas and Specific Areas.

The Prime Areas are:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
    Making relationships/self-confidence and self-awareness/managing feelings and behaviour
  • Physical Development
    Moving and handling/health and self-care
  • Communication and Language
    Listening and attention/understanding/speaking

With Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
    Numbers/shape, space and measure
  • Understanding the World
    People and Communities/The World/technology
  • Expressive Arts and Design
    Exploring and using media and materials/being imaginative
The Pre-school educational program prepares children to move onto all areas of the National Curriculum at the end of the Foundation Stage Year. We will continuously monitor and record your child’s progress through the Early Learning Goals. The progress of your child is recorded in their learning journeys and is available for you to read and discuss with your child’s key person should you wish to do so.