Curriculum (EYFS)

It is an opportunity for your child to make friends and develop educationally in a caring atmosphere.

We provide the Early Years Foundation Stage framework through seven areas of learning opportunities. These are separated into two sections, Prime Areas and Specific Areas. The Prime Areas are Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development and Communication and Language. The Specific Areas are Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

  • Personal, social and emotional development
    Making relationships/self-confidence and self-awareness/managing feelings and behaviour
  • Physical Development
    Moving and handling/health and self-care
  • Communication and Language
    Listening and attention/understanding/speaking
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
    Numbers/shape, space and measure
  • Understanding the World
    People and Communities/The World/technology
  • Expressive Arts and Design
    Exploring and using media and materials/being imaginative

The Pre-school educational program prepares children to move onto all areas of the National Curriculum at the end of the Foundation Stage Year.
We will continuously monitor and record your child’s progress through the Early Learning Goals. The progress of your child is recorded in their learning journeys and is available for you to read and discuss with your child’s key person should you wish to do so.